Tags

, , , , , , ,

Josh has never been known for being very bright.  Before he and I met he made some really stupid choices.  Like not filing income tax for 2 years.  He started filing again after he and I got together and everything appeared to be fine.  Around christmas, the other state he worked in sent him a letter telling him he owed back taxes.  He kept telling me he’d take care of it.  Yesterday they sent another letter, demanding their money.  To the tune of $9000.  To be taken care of within 20 days of the date of the letter.

I’m furious.

I’ve been telling him for months that this needed to be handled and he kept putting it off.  Now we have no choice but to setup a payment plan.  Money I hadn’t planned on spending.

I’m just waiting for the federal government and our state to get with the program and start asking where their money is.

I’m really pretty sick and tired of this bullshit.  I shouldn’t be punished for the stupid things he did before we met.  And I sure as shit shouldn’t have to deal with pre-marriage baggage like this.  It’s totally not fair to me.  I’m ready to start getting my life on track and moving forward.  I shouldn’t have to deal with cleaning up messes that took place long before I arrived on the scene.

I’m really thinking I just can’t afford him anymore.  Seems like every time I think I’m going to be able to straighten the money situation back out, someone crawls out of the woodwork demanding money from him.  It’s old, really fucking old.  I’ve handled all of my pre-marriage obligations, without any help from him.  Hell, I started supporting him before we even moved in together!  There’s no way in hell that he’d make it on his own without me.

But this is just another fucking mess I’ll get to clean up.  More money I’ll have to try to find in an already tapped out budget.  No vacation this year.  Stuck in Mom’s basement even longer.  And I really don’t think he understands what this does to me.  He doesn’t seem to get how much I’d like to have my independence again and have my own place.  He doesn’t get that I work hard for my money and I’d like to be able to spend a little of it on myself every now and then.

I don’t know what fucking planet he lives on, but it must be nice there.

