Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I have to apologize.  I heard that bit on the radio this morning and it struck me.

you shape your reality with every thought

Unfortunately, I had the windows open and was lighting a smoke and couldn’t give it my full attention so I can’t even tell you what the context was.  Knowing the DJ it was probably something just a little spiritual and uplifting and possibly had to do with this guy, Alan Cohen.  Mr. DJ dude loves spreading the inspiration that is Alan Cohen.  (don’t get me wrong – it is ALWAYS good stuff)

Anyway, so I heard that tidbit and it managed to stick through the rest of the drive, the having to go out to my car again and get some folding chairs back from my boss, discussing T’s mom’s further declining health, sorting out the schedule for the day, and telling a really awesome dick joke.

A white guy and his wife are on vacation in Jamaica and decide to go to a nude beach.  Visible on the guy’s dick are tattooed the letters W and Y.  He sees a Jamaican guy with the same two letters tattooed on his dick.  The white guy says, “hey is your wife’s name Wendy, too?” and pulls out his dick to show the full Wendy tattoo.  The Jamaican guy pulls out his dick and says, “no mon, it says Welcome to Jamaica, have a nice day.”

I am in a totally weird place right now.

But yes, we make our own reality with every thought.  When I woke up this morning I was a little cranky.  Kind of spotty sleep again last night, I’ve got yet another of those fucking pimple creatures in an irritating spot, and I was just waiting to hear about how much Josh hated last night’s class. And I got woke up to the dick song again.  I was literally primed to be in bitch mode.

So I purposefully slowed myself down and simultaneously stepped back.  I did not want to have a bad day.  It’s going to be a long day and there’s next to nothing I can do about that, but I do have some amount of control over the quality of this duration of time.  I set out to be intentionally pleasant to Josh, knowing that if I can make the first nice gesture he is way more willing to return the favor.  When I got to work I did my best to ease into the day.  I’ve already started complimenting people on bits of their outfits.  I had an amazing conversation with my girl team mates.

Every intentional thought is helping to shape my reality today.

I’m not going to lie and tell you all that this is easy as falling off a bike.  It’s taking effort.  But anything worth having is worth working for.  A good day is worth the effort in my book.  And it’s like a skill – the more often I do this, the easier it becomes.  It’s kind of like all that damn DBT stuff I went through.  It didn’t come easy at first and it didn’t even necessarily make sense until about 6 months in, but now it’s like second nature.  I’m not even so sure I could tell you the last time I had a full blown Borderline episode.  What I can tell you is that it’s possible to make it work and it really will work if you give it some time.

you shape your reality with every thought

