Tags

, , , , , , ,

I don’t often talk about my sister.  We’re only 16 months apart in age and developed a fairly deep-seated displeasure with each other at a fairly young age.  Even though we were raised by the same two parents under the same roof, we really don’t come across as being related at all.  We share a passing resemblance, but that’s really where the similarities end.  I have often wondered – out loud and to Mom – whether or not H was actually dropped off by a race of bitchy aliens and put in place of the sweet little girl my mother should have given birth to.  Mom insists that this wasn’t the case.  I’m still not convinced.

My sister has the same level of education that I do.  Her’s has been a little different – she went to an all-girls Catholic high school because she couldn’t handle the distraction of boys in her classes.  I did fine with regular old public school.  We started at the same public university for our undergrad degrees.  She transferred part way through because she was going into nursing and there’s another campus which is part of the same public system that handles the medical degrees.  But it took us the same 5 years to complete our degrees.  We both have Master’s degrees.  Mine is from that fly-by-night school and I did it all online.  Her’s is from an expensive, for-profit college that’s local.  I think her’s was a combination of on-ground and online.  I’m starting my second degree now at the same school I got my undergrad from and the same place I happen to work now.  We have both consistently gotten very good grades in all of our educational pursuits.

I got married the first time at 18.  H got married at 19.  I got divorced at 21.  H is still torturing her husband nearly 20 years later.

I’ve had 2 jobs since I graduated with my undergrad.  I honestly can’t tell you how many places my sister has worked.  What I can tell you is that she only worked as a nurse for a brief period of time and when she did she always worked nights so that she didn’t have to deal with the patients or their families as much.  Her undergrad and Master’s degrees have nothing to do with one another.

H has always been obsessed with possessions and social status.  She had to have the “right” friends and the “right” clothes and drive the “right” car and live in the “right” house.  Her kids – beautiful little girls – are nothing more than accessories to her.  All of the “right” people have kids, so she had to have some, too.  The only person I’ve ever met who has less business having kids than my sister is me.  And I got myself sterilized.

She’s mental, full on.  She sees a psychiatrist, in the same practice as my psychiatrist, but she lies to her doc.  I am 100% convinced that there is more going on than just depression, but all she’s being treated with is anti-depressants.  Of course I’m sure it doesn’t help that H drinks an entire bottle of wine by herself every night.  She’s in utter denial that there is anything wrong.

She’s working at a bank right now, doing something with numbers I think.  Apparently she’s unhappy again because she’s not being allowed to do things her way.  If I’m remember right this job pays in the neighborhood of $70k per year.  She’s seriously thinking about walking out on them today because they’re not letting her have her way.

She did this with her last job.  She ended up being off work for nearly 6 months.  While she was home she spent her time hanging out on Facebook, hauling the girls to her friends’ houses so she could drink coffee and gossip, and watching tv.  She didn’t cook any meals, do any laundry, clean any part of the house, or do anything else that be considered even remotely constructive.

Queue rant.

I have TWO FUCKING MENTAL ILLNESSES, I work a full time job that I’ve held for the last TWELVE YEARS, I go to school, I take care of a husband who is virtually helpless, I cook most of the meals which are eaten at our house, I do all of the laundry Josh and I produce, I clean our living space and bathroom, and will sometimes help Mom clean the other parts of the house.  Plus, I have to take care of the fucking brat twice a month and on those visits I have more interaction with her than my sister usually has with her own children in an entire week.  And I do all of this on a salary that is not quite HALF what my sister makes.

I don’t care what the car I drive looks like so long as it gets me the places I need to go.  I don’t care what the label in the back of my shirt says, I’m just damn happy I have a shirt to wear.  My friends are mostly bat-shit crazy and that is precisely how I want them to be.  And it really doesn’t bother me so much that I’m 37 years old and living in my mother’s basement.  It’s a very nice basement and she is, by far, the coolest landlady EVER.

What REALLY gets me is what that bitch is doing to my nieces.  They demonstrate that they prefer the company of my mom to that of their own mother.  And the oldest is starting to show signs that she may be going to have problems later.  She’s exhibiting some of the same character traits that I did at that age, and by god, that just scares the living shit out of my sister.  YOU FUCKING IDIOT!!!  YOU KNOW THIS GODFORSAKEN CURSE RUNS IN OUR FAMILY, WHAT THE FUCK WERE YOU THINKING GETTING PREGNANT???

Sorry kids.  This whole disgusting situation just makes me ill in my soul.  My sister totally takes advantage of anyone and everyone she can.  She’s got no manners whatsoever.  She is totally convinced that she’s the center of the universe and god forbid anyone tries to contradict her.  And it won’t get any better until she wakes up and owns what’s going on.

