Tags

, , , , , ,

The burnt feeling is going around.  K, my dear colleague, is feeling it as well.  I suspect our boss is suffering the same.  I know Mom is getting near the end of her rope.

It’s times like these I wish I had a magic wand and could wave it over my loved ones and take away their problems in one sassy little swish.  But, that really wouldn’t be right.  It occurred to me this morning that one of the fundamental things that defines our character is how we handle adversity.

I would not be the woman I am today had I not had an abortion at 13.  I would not be the woman I am today had I not gotten divorced at 21 and again at 32.  I would not be the woman I am today had I not been diagnosed with both Bipolar Disorder and Borderline Personality Disorder.

And in spite of all the bullshit that means I’ve lived through, I honestly wouldn’t change it.  I am “me” today because of who I was then.

There is NOTHING wrong with being different.  There is NOTHING wrong with having a mental health diagnosis.  And there is NOTHING wrong with being precisely who you are.  OWN IT.  You are who you are, now learn to love that person or make a concerted effort to change the things you don’t like.

We all have potential to do and be the things we want to.  We can all take better care of ourselves.  We can all educate ourselves more.  We can all spend more time being good to the people around us.

Don’t let life get away from you.  Take charge.  Make your dreams happen.  We only get one go around on this earth, make the most of it.  Carpe diem kids – seize that day and make it your bitch.  We’ll sleep when we’re dead, for now there’s life to be lived.

GO FORTH AND BE BRILLIANT

