Tags

,

25 Songs in 25 Days Challenge – Day Sixteen

A song that has made you cry

No, how about a song that always makes me cry.

Celtic Woman’s rendition of “Amazing Grace” (though any rendition that includes bagpipes will do the trick)

This is quite possibly the loveliest version out there. Bagpipes and those beautiful voices, it’s perfect. “Amazing Grace” has been a part of damn near every funeral I’ve been to, including my grandmother’s. I think maybe Mom had it played at Dad’s funeral, but to be honest, I remember very little of that day aside from thinking that the body on display in the casket was most certainly NOT my father.

The lyrics of the song are comforting, it’s usually the bagpipes that get me. There’s something so mournful about how they sound. Might want to get your tissues before you press “play.”

