Tags

, , ,

reach for the starsIf you’re just joining me for the first time, I’ve got a list of 10 Major Goals I want to accomplish before I turn 40 in 2016. That’s what I refer to as my Life Worth Living; it’s a DBT thing. If you don’t want to stay stuck where you’ve been in life, you have to figure out where you want to go and what it would take to truly make your life worth living.

To get there, I’m using the Building Rome setup from Green Embers to break those major goals into smaller, more manageable pieces that I tackle on a weekly basis. Every week I do a Creative, Stress Management, Health, Financial, and School goal that tie back to my personal Building a Life Worth Living project.

I would strongly encourage anyone who wants a little boost in helping achieve goals to join Green Embers and the rest of the Building Rome crew as we reach for the stars.

Update from last week:

Creative – There’s some knitting to be done for the care packages and I’d like to get all of that done this week. Earlier this morning I scanned the dragonfly and lotus blossom I sketched awhile back so now I just need to manipulate the image and hopefully upload it to Redbubble. I also really need to get back to sketching.

  • I got ALL of the knitting bits done. (I also got 2 packages sent out! The rest will be sent this morning.)
  • I screwed up the scan so all I got was the lotus, but I did upload it.
  • I also uploaded some photos to Redbubble. (And I made my second sale!)

Stress Management – I’d really like to get back on the treadmill because that helps a ton with my sleep. Provided everything goes alright at the dermatologist’s this afternoon and I can find a pair of pants that don’t rub funny, I’m going to try walking at least two nights this week for at least 15 minutes each time. I was only able to walk once, but that’s better than not at all and I didn’t make twice because of vehicle bullshit the other night I normally fit it in.

Health – I will figure out how to brush AND floss twice a day this week if it fucking kills me!!! I’m sorry, did you say something?

Financial – Friday is payday so I need to sit down and get the money for the month worked out. It didn’t get done until yesterday, but it did get done. Barring any (MORE) unforeseen problems we should be just fine.

School – I need to apply for the other certificate I’m going to be working on and apply for the actual Master’s degree. I’m really leaning towards doing a creative non-fiction course in the spring and I want to make sure it counts.

  • I submitted the application for the other certificate.
  • I contacted Cunty Prof about the portfolio requirement for the cert I’m almost done with.
  • I also got info from her about the requirements should I decide to torture myself with the full degree. I’m back to being up in the air about this.

flower dividerGoals for this week:

Creative – I’ve decided that this month I’m going to embark on the start of Goal 3 which is to start and finish, within the month, a knit or crochet project. This can be anything, including my beloved washcloths. What I’d like to do for November is finish a few things I already have started, which is kind of cheating, but would get me back into the swing of things. I think. So, with that in mind, I’m aiming to finish the (fucking) Vintage Hand Towel and a filet crochet rose doily that’s been lingering for ages. And the other bits for care packages.

Stress Management – Treadmill, twice, no excuses. And I have therapy this week, which is always good.

Health – I’ve been doing a pretty good job of doing what the dermatologist wants me to, but I need to really try harder to follow the Letter of The Law. And I should still do my best to brush and floss my fucking teeth twice a day.

Financial – Make a plan for Christmas gifts so I can start working out a budget.

School – I’ll be able to register for Spring term on Tuesday. I’ve got two classes already picked out that would satisfy my final course requirement for the Tech Comm certificate. I also need to start getting the portfolio tightened up. I actually started working on it a long time ago, just for myself, so yay.

