Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

reach for the starsIf you’re just joining me for the first time, I’ve got a list of 10 Major Goals I want to accomplish before I turn 40 in 2016. That’s what I refer to as my Life Worth Living; it’s a DBT thing. If you don’t want to stay stuck where you’ve been in life, you have to figure out where you want to go and what it would take to truly make your life worth living.

Every week I do a Creative, Stress Management, Health, Financial, and School goal that tie back to my Building a Life Worth Living project. Bit by bit I’m reaching for the stars.

Update from last week:

Creative – Work on the filet rose doily. And anything else that sounds like fun.

  • I did work on the rose doily some. Towards the middle of the week our temperatures dropped dramatically and the skin on my hands dried out and cracked, fairly badly. This wouldn’t be so bad except I’ve got a painful crack in the tip of my thumb where I hold the crochet hook.
  • Sketched a butterfly and got it uploaded to Redbubble.
  • Sketched two Christmas ornaments and a snowflake specifically for Redbubble. (I drew and uploaded another 2 snowflakes this morning.)
  • Put together a Lego koala that I had picked up on our road trip.
  • More shrinky dinks.
  • A Christmas gift for someone who can’t be named here.
  • The two picture holders.
  • And a partridge in a pear tree.

Stress Management – I need to get back to being more cognizant of how I spend my time at night. I’ve been pushing myself to stay up later because I’m not using my time effectively. I need to focus on giving myself at least an hour every night to really relax. Reading, knitting, crocheting, sketching – anything non-electronic is fine.

Some nights were easier than others, but I did spend at least some time every night relaxing AND I was laying down by 9:15 every week night.

Health – Mom and I have found a water aerobics class that we’d like to take but I’m not sure how that would be with my skin issues. I need to call the dermatologist’s office this week and find out.

I actually called the doc’s office last Monday, right after posting, and got a speedy answer. As long as I don’t have any open sores she said it’s a great idea. However, things have started getting shitty again. We’ll see how it goes, but for now Mom and I have decided to wait. I do have a follow up appointment already scheduled for December 1.

Financial – I have got to stop spending money like I’ve mastered the art of shitting $100 bills!!! No money out this week except to put gas in the vehicle.

I did JUST FINE until Sunday. I went shopping with Mom at Costco looking for knock-off Ugg boots for the littles. They had a pair for A, but not E. And they had a single pair in size 11, which I made the mistake of trying on. Fuck. And then later in the afternoon Josh and I ended up at Michaels. In my defense, I checked the bank account before I left and in total I spent less than $100. Fuck, I suck at this. 😦

School – Make a plan for myself based on the course schedule for the rest of the semester. Prep in advance as much as I can.

Turning your homework in for an online class is really fucking hard when the prof doesn’t make the mechanism for turning it available. But I wrote up my post in Word and stuck it up when I could. And I did make a list of what all still needs to be done, that I know about anyway, and started working my way through it.

flower dividerGoals for this week:

Creative – I’m going to combine this with the Financial goal this week. I need to finalize my list of what I’m making for the few folks who are getting Christmas gifts, make sure I have all of the supplies I need, and then get started. Also, keep working on the rose doily. That needs to be done by the end of November.

Stress Management – Spend at least 45 minutes doing something I find relaxing every night that isn’t electronic. Reading, sketching, knitting, crocheting, Legos, Nanoblocks – whatever. I have plenty of things to keep myself busy with that don’t require any electricity beyond having a light turned on.

Health – Time to get back to hitting the self-care routines hard and heavy. This week I want to specifically focus on:

  • Brush and floss at least once each day
  • Be aware of the food and drink choices I’m making; I’m not going to try documenting everything again just yet, but I want to be more cognizant of what goes in my mouth
  • Take a full shower every day (washing my hair is optional, the rest is not)
  • Apply the topical antibiotic at least once each day
  • Do the Hibiclens routine at least every other day

I have all of the necessary supplies in the necessary places to make this as easy as possible. I even have a back-up bottle of Hibiclens on hand, just in case. There really shouldn’t be any excuses.

School – Continue to work on getting/staying ahead. Next week is Thanksgiving so there’s very little due anyway but I want to take advantage of how slow it will be at work to get as far ahead as possible. I also need to start getting some work done on my portfolio. The content is up to date as of the last class I took (the one in the spring), but I’m thinking the look needs to be updated a little.

