Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

reach for the starsIf you’re just joining me for the first time, I’ve got a list of 10 Major Goals I want to accomplish before I turn 40 in 2016. That’s what I refer to as my Life Worth Living; it’s a DBT thing. If you don’t want to stay stuck where you’ve been in life, you have to figure out where you want to go and what it would take to truly make your life worth living.

Every week I do a Creative, Stress Management, Health, Financial, and School goal that tie back to my Building a Life Worth Living project. Bit by bit I’m reaching for the stars.

Update from last week:

Creative – I’m going to combine this with the Financial goal this week. I need to finalize my list of what I’m making for the few folks who are getting Christmas gifts, make sure I have all of the supplies I need, and then get started. Also, keep working on the rose doily. That needs to be done by the end of November.

I did some of the planning. It was only some because I’m still not entirely sure what to do for the small people. I figured out a few pieces though and I do have more than adequate supplies. I didn’t really get started though and I wasn’t able to crochet at all. My thumb is still super tender.

Stress Management – Spend at least 45 minutes doing something I find relaxing every night that isn’t electronic. Reading, sketching, knitting, crocheting, Legos, Nanoblocks – whatever. I have plenty of things to keep myself busy with that don’t require any electricity beyond having a light turned on.

This was much more of a success. Need to keep working on it tough.

Health – Time to get back to hitting the self-care routines hard and heavy. This week I want to specifically focus on:

  • Brush and floss at least once each day – yes, except Saturday
  • Be aware of the food and drink choices I’m making; I’m not going to try documenting everything again just yet, but I want to be more cognizant of what goes in my mouth – yes, and I kind of suck at eating healthy
  • Take a full shower every day (washing my hair is optional, the rest is not) – yes, except Saturday
  • Apply the topical antibiotic at least once each day – oh hell
  • Do the Hibiclens routine at least every other day – dammit!!!

I have all of the necessary supplies in the necessary places to make this as easy as possible. I even have a back-up bottle of Hibiclens on hand, just in case. There really shouldn’t be any excuses. Trying again…

School – Continue to work on getting/staying ahead. Next week is Thanksgiving so there’s very little due anyway but I want to take advantage of how slow it will be at work to get as far ahead as possible. I also need to start getting some work done on my portfolio. The content is up to date as of the last class I took (the one in the spring), but I’m thinking the look needs to be updated a little.

I’m having a really hard time getting my team mates for this project motivated to do anything and it’s really pissing me off.

flower dividerGoals for this week:

Because this week will be so odd for me – 3 days at work that will mostly be quiet, Thanksgiving itself, spending Friday with the nieces, and then having the kid over for the weekend – I’m not actually doing to set any concrete goals. I know the things I need to stay on top of for my health and that’s the most important place for me to focus.

