mental health bannerAs you most likely know by now, Josh and I have mental illnesses. Yes, “es” as in two of them. Each. I have Bipolar Disorder, type 2, and Borderline Personality Disorder. Josh has Bipolar Disorder, type 2, and Attention Deficit Disorder.

We both see psychiatrists, different ones, and we both take meds. We both have terrible trouble sleeping without our meds and, we’ve recently discovered for Josh, without white noise. We have both spent time inpatient in the local psychiatric ward. This is not a first marriage for either of us. We have rotten tempers sometimes and very little patience. Neither of us is all that great with money. Both of us are highly creative.

All things you’d expect to hear about people who have mental illnesses, right? Here’s the kinds of things you’re not as likely to hear…

We’re both in school, studying things we love. I’m working on my second round of graduate school. I earned my first MA entirely online, partially while in the hospital, with a 3.8 GPA.

We live with my mom, in part, because it provides extra built-in support for both of us. Neither of us is ashamed of this.

Neither of us is particularly religious, but we have strong ethical and moral values. We are the founding members of the Church of the Snowflake after all. We try to do our best to be good to people and we firmly believe in sharing our cookies.

I guess what I’m really getting at is that you well and truly cannot judge books by their covers, either the cover you see or the words someone else would use to describe the cover. We are all more than the sum of our parts and we all deserve to be treated like what we are –

PEOPLE

2014-05-15 18.27.12

