Tags

, , , ,

Here’s something slightly unusual about me that you may not know – Mom and I make a menu every week. We typically do this on Saturday morning, at the dining table, with the coupons and weekly ads strewn about. We also take a quick inventory beforehand of what proteins we already have on hand.

Every week we do this.

It may sound a little too organized for some, but hear me out. I don’t ever come home from work and stress about what I’m cooking and then get pissed because nothing is defrosted and end up just getting fast food, spending money I don’t really have on food that tends to not be worth eating. Instead, I know ahead of time what’s coming up the next night so I can defrost the meat or get out special ingredients, or the cookbook, whatever. This also lets us know when Mom might need to stop for fresh things like lettuce for salads. The menu isn’t set in stone, I mean obviously the earth isn’t going to stop spinning on its axis if we have spaghetti on Wednesday instead of Monday, but it does make sure that we have everything we need for at least 7 nights worth of dinners.

(honestly, I’m getting to the project, I promise)

We’ve always just scribbled our menus on skinny notepads that hang on the fridge, and that’s been fine. But then I had to go screwing around on the Pinterest last night while they were making their puzzle and, well, you know what happens when you screw around on the Pinterest…

the raw materials - an 11x14 picture frame, single sheet of scrapbook paper, funky black letter stickers, and Command velcro strip thingies

the raw materials – an 11×14 picture frame, single sheet of scrapbook paper, funky black letter stickers, and Command velcro strip thingies

I measured the inside opening of the super cheap "mat" that came inside the frame to find the center then started adding the letters from the center out and lined up with the bottom edge

I measured the inside opening of the super cheap “mat” that came inside the frame to find the center then started adding the letters from the center out and lined up with the bottom edge

next I cut the scrapbook paper down so that it fits behind the mat; I only used two short pieces of scotch tape in case I decide I want to change that paper in the future

next I cut the scrapbook paper down so that it fits behind the mat; I only used two short pieces of scotch tape in case I decide I want to change that paper in the future

the finished product firmly adhered to the surround for the fridge with the Command strip things

the finished product firmly adhered to the surround for the fridge with the Command strip things

So how this is supposed to work is you use a dry erase marker on the glass that’s covering the pretty paper and that lets you just wipe it off every week. I need to bring a better black marker home from work, I think I have several in my little pen cup.

What do y’all think? What’s the most interesting thing you’ve made based on an idea from Pinterest?

PS – got an A in my class

