Tags

, , , , , , , ,

bfmh15-4-copy“I pledge my commitment to the Blog for Mental Health 2015 Project. I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others. By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health. I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma.”

I think by now y’all know that I have been diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder II and Borderline Personality Disorder. Josh, my husband, also has Bipolar Disorder II and Attention Deficit Disorder. I talk about mental health issues around here rather a LOT. It’s a significant part of who we are so there is no way in hell I would ever even think about trying to hide it.

I also don’t sugar coat things. Having a mental health diagnosis can be The Utter Suck sometimes. There are appointments with psychiatrists and therapists to make, go to, and pay for. There are usually medicines to take, and it can take years to find the right ones to control your symptoms. There are the bad days when your symptoms get the best of you and it’s a struggle to just keep breathing.

Been there, done that. Would you believe those lousy fucks don’t give out free t-shirts for surviving this bullshit???

But it’s not always bad and it can get better. That, more than anything else, is what I try to share on this blog. I’ve had some truly terrible times in my life because of my disorders, but I came out the other side stronger.

I have an amazing support network, most notably my wonderful mother. I would never have made it this far without her. I also have terrific co-workers and friends, both here in town and scattered all over the world, who help boost me up when I start to fall.

The single most important lesson that I’ve learned through all of this is that it’s not only alright to ask for help, it’s essential. Please don’t try to handle it on your own, it’s so much better having others with you to help shoulder the burdens. We get by with a little help from our friends, just ask Ringo.

10511128_10150414777274984_3903459170511635057_n

