Tags

, , , , , , ,

Rumor has it the name of this blog is Mental in the Midwest, so I guess I should write about something mental…

2014-09-04 19.28.12I was having a chat with Alice this morning. She mentioned having an important paper go missing in the mail. I suggested that when she get a replacement copy she should scan it so that, squirrels forbid, it go missing again she’d have a way to print a replacement much quicker. (sounds like I’ve been there before, eh?) So I thought perhaps I’d write up a little list for y’all of tips I’ve collected over the years for making having the mentals a little easier.

    • Setup a cloud drive (Dropbox, iCloud, SugarSync) so you can access stuff anywhere. I cannot tell you how many times I’ve needed a file that was only on my laptop, at home, when I was at work. Keeping shit I might need to get to from somewhere else on the cloud drive eliminates that issue.
    • Take pictures of shit with your phone so you don’t forget. Do you need a specific kind of cat kibble? Take a pic of the bag so when you get to the pet store you have a handy visual reference.
    • Set your phone camera up to auto upload to your computer. This ties back to the cloud drive thing for me. I use Dropbox and one of their features is called Camera Upload. Any pics I save on my phone automatically upload to their server and thus to my computer.
    • Use the calendar on your phone to keep track of appointments – doctors, reminders to get refills, anything important that you can’t afford to forget. I have the calendar on my phone synced up with my work email calendar which makes it super easy when I need to schedule appointments at the doc’s office. I can see when I already have stuff going on and I can add my next appointment right there and poof! Like magic it shows up on the calendar in my office.
    • Type up a list of the meds you take, with doses, and when you take them – keep a copy in your purse/wallet/backpack so that if something happens you’ll have that info handy (also great for when you go to the doc, just print an extra copy and give it to them).
    • Any paper that you get from the doc (or hospital) that you need to give to your boss or HR, scan first and keep a digital copy in a safe place just in case they lose it.
    • If you take meds that don’t change often, ask your pharmacy to setup you up on automatic refills; my pharmacy also sends me a text when a Rx is ready to be picked up.
    • If you have trouble remembering to take your meds, set an alarm on your phone to remind you.
    • I like to keep a small whiteboard on the fridge to remind myself of things I might forget. I also leave reminders there for Josh.

I’m sure I’m forgetting something, but that’s all I have written down…

adhd

